In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors, and they lack a sense of community. What are the causes? How to solve this problem?

It is true that more and more people do not have a tight relationship with their neighbors, leading to not truly understanding the value of a community. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that people could connect to their neighborhood more by participating in the public activities.

There are various reasons why people do not know their next door friends. Firstly, in this day and age, people have to deal with hectic schedules at work, therefore, do not have much time at home to build up their relationship. In Ho Chi Minh city, a metropolitan area in Vietnam, the majority of inhabitants work from the early morning till late night, which means they come home merely for rest and sleeping. Being exhausted after a long day, people would be more likely to stay in their place rather than hanging out and talking with their neighbors. Secondly, the cutting edge technology helps people to keep in touch with their friends via the Internet, so they might be too lazy to go out for chatting. Instead of going outside and finding someone to talk with, what they need to do is lie on the bed and use the phone to call for some friends. Consequently, they could not meet their neighbor to make friends, and the sense of community would be lacking.

In my view, the population management board could provide the dwellers with more social activities to gather people. By joining those activities, the citizens have more opportunities to get to know each other well. They could hang out to meet the neighbors, and in the activities they would have more things in common to talk about For example, the Vinpearl residential area in Vietnam usually organized some contests for the local residents' kids such as handcraft, dancing or singing. While those contests take place, the parents could attend there and watch their kid’s performance. Viewing the contest, inhabitants could discuss the performance together. Obviously, taking part in those activities gives residents a chance to meet and start a relationship with their neighbor, which would form a community.

In conclusion, I believe that gathering people into social activities could make people closer and closer with each other and form a strong community.