Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products, which is good for the economy. While others believe it is bad for society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether they should consume more goods to boost the country's economy. While in some ways it may seem reasonable for the government to support the residents buying more stuff, I personally believe that this trend would affect the community badly.

On the one hand, if many products are sold, the opportunity for people who plan to start up would be enhanced. Specifically, when the companies make a huge profit, the government would also get money by strict taxes. Those taxes revenues could be given to the potential entrepreneurs to set up their own business and compete in the domestic market or even international field. If these businesses are successful, the nation will have a huge income to develop their country, adapt to more cutting edge technology and even improve the residents' standards. Take Singapore for example. Owing to the entrepreneur policy, many businessmen were supported and got success, finally achieving their goals. Then, they use the profits to develop their own country.

On the other hand, encouraging dwellers to buy more goods brings a more serious problem: Environmental pollution. In order to manufacture goods, many materials are used and much more energy is needed. Moreover, this rampant consumerism would waste huge quantities of goods as they are being bought and thrown into dumpsters continuously. For instance, the fast fashion industry has recently been seriously condemned. The reason for this condemnation is that it consumes too many natural resources, which are noticeably used up, only for unsustainable purposes. If people keep using resources at this pace, it will soon run out and the civilization has nothing to use but trash.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better, on balance, for residents to only buy enough goods which are their needs.