In many countries, people like to eat a wide range of food that cannot be grown in their local place. Therefore, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions.

As time’s flowing, the world keeps changing, and transporting becomes easier and easier than ever. People tend to consume imported food from another country, which can not be grown on their local farm. However, there are both pros and cons of this issue. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why this is a 2 edges knife, as well as proving that the benefit of this trend would outweigh the negative faces.

Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of eating imported food. One of the main positive points is that it creates an opportunity for developing countries. Specifically is that the third world, whose economy bases mostly on farming, can export their goods to other countries. By seizing this opportunity, these nations can make full use of their farming products. Moreover, each country has its own plants, so they can exchange these products to meet the demand of their dwellers and make a profit lucratively.

Secondly, this imported food consumerism can lead to a better quality of life. According to Maslow's hierarchy of needs, people’s demand is rising to the same level as their life standard. To be clearer, when people have enough basic needs such as rice, bread, or milk, they’ll no longer be interested in this kind of food anymore. As a result, exotic food, which is novel to them, can let them be in ecstasy every meal. This is not only a physical demand but also a spiritual one that is worth being concerned about.

Turning to the other side of this issue, the delivery fee is a huge problem. Using ferries or planes for international shipping would cost lots of money. The difficulties are not only money but also the environment, which is polluted seriously. In order to run the means of transportation, a huge amount of fossil fuel must be used and this gives off thousands of tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. This can be extremely detrimental to the present nature, which has been extensively damaged by human industries already.

Another thing to concern is that the farm product can not keep its best taste for such a long time being shipped. In other words, after being harvested on the farm, people store them in containers day by day for export. This process takes time and can affect directly the flavor of food, which means they may not be as fresh as the farm’s ones - if not impossible.

All things considered, using exotic food has been suitable for the world nowadays. Although there are still some cons, the pros are also irrefutable. Personally, I utterly believe the benefits in terms of consuming imported food eventually outweigh any negatives.