In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Unprecedented has there been a phenomenon that the manufacturing industry ubiquitously makes use of plastic covers in their products, so-called food and drink as it is seen recently. Notwithstanding some prevailing benefits, the drawbacks overwhelm it's reverse owing to some rational reasons.

Conspicuously, from the economic standpoint, the use of plastic bags has positive contributions to organizations. Plastic items can be effortlessly manufactured by innovative machines, so the owners do not have to splurge much on these products. For instance, there was a survey conducted in Vietnam, comparing the price which the employees had to pay for plastic covers and those for paper bags. Surprisingly, the result signified that instead of using expensive environmentally friendly methods, people favored using the reverse economical one. Moreover, in the consumerism society, food and drink are two items that citizens daily consume, therefore, a large number of elementary containers are required to suit this market, so a malleable bag is an acceptable choice for them.

Conversely, the drawbacks still overshadow the aforementioned benefits, especially on both the environment and mankind’s health. First and foremost, plastic garbage is extremely damaging to biodiversity. According to VTV, which is an official news channel of Vietnam, the enormous malleable waste is posing a threat to the local nature by poisoning the underground, destroying aquatic-related creatures. Second, human beings’ health is endangered by plastic wastes from victuals. Chemical phenomenons occur when plastic waste stays in the water for too long, these toxic substances can be absorbed into the groundwater which residents use for drinking. Consequently, it will cause disease and destroy the immune system, leading to mortalities.

By way of conclusion, plastic containers are bringing tons of disadvantages to the world’s nature, and it is no doubt that its drawbacks override advantages.