In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, numerous quantity of nations have an isolated group of the population with enormous incomes, anyhow, one sector of the population argue that brings benefits for their nation, while the opposite sector reckons that it would aid more to the country if the government set a roof of salaries. I believe that setting limits on the salaries scale would bring great benefits for any nation and its population.

Firstly, people with excessive income have to pay more tax because in any country taxes have to be deducted from salaries according to the amounts of money folks are getting, for instance, in Australia, tax of 10% from salary will be deducted, that means if an employee earns $100 the government will receive $10, but if the same person earns $10.000, $1.000 from tax will be deducted from his/her salary. However, this is beneficial for the government but that does not ensure that the whole country will get that benefit.

On the other hand, if the government set a top of salaries this will bring benefits for the companies because labour pays would decrease, and it would stimulate companies to invest more in generating more employment opportunities. for example, the company Quipitos S.A. from Colombia decided in 1995 create a roof of salaries in the company, this made the company reorganise finish with the excessively high salaries and they could open a new office in 1996. Furthermore, this model generates benefits if the government set minimum salaries as a compliment.

To conclude, the high incomes in isolate sectors brings benefits to the government but it never guarantees that the population will get that aid directly, anyhow creating a roof of salaries will bring more direct benefits for people only if that is complemented with a minimum income, that will build a balance in the country.