In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

The trending interest in many countries are now currently transforming. Only few of young generation are now accessing newspaper or current issues on television. I believe in modern era, youth interest has been generally shifted from conventional media to internet. In addition, I would recommend that the thematic website is one of the potential solution which could keep up the capacity and knowledge quality of young people.

Based on the data from Central Bureau of Statistics in Indonesia, the participation number of youth in accessing internet is getting higher from time to time. The question is how well content of the internet is. According to the survey, most of them are intensively spending their leisure time to updating their social media, such as, Facebook, Instagram, or Youtube. Youth are no longer has the intention to following current national or international news such as economic cooperation between nations, social and culture exchange between regions. This is quite serious problem, since the young generation's knowledge is considered as a future asset.

The potential solution that could be offered is the good method in how the news or knowledge is delivered. For instance, in Yogyakarta, there is Tirto.id website, where the young people could be involved in the internet forum for certain thematic issues such as poverty or climate change by presenting their article or graphic data in creative ways, which is linked to their social media. The best ideas would get many likes, comments and shares by other participants. By this method, I think young generation would be more aware about current news.

In conclusion, generating thematic website which is linked to their social media could be considered as a good method to raise the young generation awareness for current social, economic and environment issues.