Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A sizable number offenders re-offend after they are released from Jail. There are several reasons for this problem but it is not an insurmountable problem if some measures are taken by the government to address the problem.

Unemployment and lack of education are the major causes of the problem. To begin with, people who commit crimes often have no other way of making a living. In addition, the prison system can make the situation worse. Prison are to some extent "school of crime". This means that offenders mix with other criminals who can be a negative influence, whereby they become more capable and determined criminals than when they entered. A criminal record makes finding job more difficult. Therefore many prisoners re-offend when they are released. At the same time, prisons should provide education or vocational training. Because a vast majority of offenders suffer from a low level of education, they usually need to continue their education to further education. It gives them better opportunities to find a job and open the door to better future prospect for them.

Training and rehabilitation are the keys remedies to detoxify offenders problem. firstly, some actionable training, vocational training for instance, and also some education which can help them to find a job and improve their living condition when their conviction period has ended. Besides, rehabilitation programs prepare them to release in society. Moreover, community service is another way to reform them. it makes them useful in their society and can improve their confidence and self-esteem. They might be required to talk to a school group or clean public area.

In conclusion, the problem will only be solved if government plans to reform offenders through community service and provides them with education.