Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There is the issue of whether or not recycling should be compelled by legislation. While there is some argument in favor of imposing law, I personally partially disagree with making law limitation for it.

On the one hand, those who support this idea believe that laws have several advantages. From their point of view, wastes can pose major problems for the environment, such as water pollution stemming from deliberate dumping the wastes in places outside of controlled landfills and waste processing, contaminating run-off water and rain water and finally enter the water cycle, being a serious threat to both human and animals health. Notwithstanding individuals usually are aware of these problems, they are reluctant to recycle their wastes. They also mentioned that a vast majority of people usually don't perform the corrects if it is not made compulsory for them. Therefore, laws lobby point out, the best way for increasing recycling would be that imposing harsh penalties or enforcing a restricted law.

On the other hand, I believe that there are several ways to iron out this problem. Firstly, raising public awareness about environmental problems would be probably the first step toward ameliorating the problems. It means that citizens should be warned about the risk of water and soil contamination as a result of non-recycled wastes for their health. This can be done via different media and through celebrities and high spoke-person profile, athletes champions, movie stars and performer for instance. Secondly, governments can be introduced some incentives to encourage city dwellers to recycle. The tax incentive would be potential remedies or giving them recycled products as rewards, as we can see in the USA.

In conclusion, whereas forcing individuals is a way to grow to recycle, I claim that willing people to do it through health warning and rewarding would be more effective way.