many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which may cause many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

do you agree or disagree ?

In the post-industrialization era, consumers moved towards the unhealthy lifestyle. Its influence encouraged the manufacturing of food and drinks that has sugar content beyond the daily requirement of a healthy human being. Prices on such products has to be elevated in order to remind individuals on healthy eating habits. I consider, increasing the prices of the foods and drinks with high glycemic index is an ideal way to encourage people to have meals with less sugar and this essay intends to address this matter with supporting reasons and examples.

On the one hand, rapid industrialization gave capitalist’s an unimaginable influence in our modern society. While these food manufactuers started advocating on foods that suit the busy lifestyle of the person living in the cities, that’s how fastfoods restaurents emerged into our lives. These places are the primary source for the sugary products, that we consume daily. Whereas, on regular consumption of these items, people may develop a multitude of health problems. For instance, chronic metabolic diseases like type 2 diabetes, hypertension, obesity, affects people of young age . These primary diseases resort to further complication in the long run leading to hideous diseases like stroke and heart attack. Thus, by eating sugary items, people unknowingly lead a live that might cause so much physical, mental and social pain, and eventually leading to premature deaths.

To counter act the damages already done, health care workers and governments insist on making the sugary products expensive. The first measure would be increasing the tax on those products, this will definitely influence the purchasing capacity of the consumers. Secondly, governments should make laws that instructs the fastfood manufacutrers to increase the prices on the products which has high sugar content, in addition they should impose heavier fine on the companies who does not follow the government regulations. If not followed their license to manufacture food produce should be dismissed. On the other hand, the nutritional contents of manufactured products should be strictly regulated by some government aided insitutions. When these products becomes expensive, it will be a luxury commodity, thus all classes of people would think twice to buy them, which helps them lead a better quality life.

To summarise, strict restrictions on the high sugar food should be imposed, both in terms of increasing the price of the prodcut as well as implementing laws. Hence, it might be possible for people to live a life without being pestered by deadly diseases.