Many People are choosing to find information online rather than in books. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, many people decide to look for information needed online instead of in books. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate this situation.

First and foremost, the most frequent benefit which finding information online could bring is that it can help us save time. Actually, in this day and age, there is the majority of people over the world own some modern technologies such as smartphones, iPods, laptops and so on which are connected to the Internet. Therefore, it is quite easy that people can search for necessary information immediately, which books cannot help people to do. Studies in this field have shown that thanks to the Internet, people are able to reduce 73% of time used for searching information in books. Consequently, seeking online information is convenient.

In addition, another merit of looking for information online which cannot be overlooked is that it allows us to seek for information from various websites and resources. As a matter of fact, nowadays most websites are designed to suggest other links which are related to the problem searched. For example, if educational data is searched on Google, this website will present different resources related to this education such as “Teaching”, “Studying”, “Education at School”, “Studying at home” and so on. As a result, online searching is definitely helping people expand their knowledge.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that searching for information online can provide many plus sides which books cannot do such as time-saving or collecting data from various resources at the same time. For these reasons, from my perspective, this is a positive development