Many people believe that it is better to learn something in a group rather than individually.

Do you agree or disagree?

Interactive approaches, especially in terms of education, have increased in popularity during the recent years. Although self-study has yet its own defenders, from my standpoint, learning in group would be more fruitful.

In earlier times, pupils were more inclined to study individually. This approach benefited them from better concentration. Indeed, it provided a tranquil atmosphere, where there was no compulsory to follow strict circumstances, and also no distribution to draw their attention. A paradigm shift, however, has happened in public’s understanding. Nowadays, there is an upward trend in learning through collaboration due to its much more positive sides.

First of all, participating in a team teaches students how to communicate with their peers. Thanks to speaking, discussion, and consulting, they would find the opportunity to revolutionize their social skills, an ability which plays a pivot role in their future career path. One the other hand, sharing knowledge would happen in a faster pace in this situation, which eventually broadens the members’ knowledge of various aspects of a subject. For instance, in terms of presenting an architectural project, one is specialized to work with design software, and another one is expert in artistic aspects of the project. These two can work together, learn from each other and eventually enhance their knowledge.

Having said that, knowledge can be acquired through both self-study and teamwork. Nonetheless, in my opinion, getting involved in groups would result in more achievements.