Many people keep dogs and cats as companions.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

From the history of civilization, animals have been the companion of human beings in many ways. Nowadays there is an increase in the love of people towards the tamed animals for varying reasons. However, the trend of surged pet ownership has its own pros and cons to the individual and to the society. This essay intends to analyse the both sides with my own perception.

There are manifold benefits can be accounted for having pets. First and foremost, the concept of family in the modern world is changed drastically from the past years where, people prefer to live as single compared to the nuclear and joint families. Hence, pets like cat and dog may have a definite role in many folk’s life as a protective guard and a companion in leaps and bounds. Moreover, a tamed and trained dog can assure the safety of many communities not only by acting as a house guard but also by a bomb squad. For instance, many dogs are in every countries defence department to ensure the safety and quality. Thus, having these cat species as a companion benefits both t o the individual and society to a great extent. In contrary, it has a thorny side too.

To commence with, managing a pet with all the necessities are sometimes a burden for many people because the food and the accessories are much expensive, and many cannot afford. It can be seen that without a proper care and love these animals may become stray dogs or cats and can be a burden to the society by harming others. To demonstrate, there is a recent report published in Australia that a pet dog harmed a child of 6 years when the parents were away from the home. Thence, as animals lack logical thinking and reasoning, the unexpected behaviour can sometimes take the life of people.

To recapitulate, even though there are a few negatives with the pet ownership its merits far outweigh the demerits.