Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some that zoos should not be allowed to operate because of their cruelty. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that these places play an integral role in wildlife conservation.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why zoos are criticized for their cruelty. For one, zoos cannot provide enough space for captive animals, especially for those that roam over large distances, such as panthers or swallows. This could make the animals feel like they are being kept in prison, which can lead to distress and attempt to commit suicide. In addition, animals may lose their natural behavior like hunting skills, nurturing skills for offspring because they do not have the ideal conditions to hone them. Therefore, they are likely to face survival threats when released since they lack the skills needed to feed themselves or to deal with predators.

On the other hand, I would maintain that zoos are necessary for animals’ protection. It must first be recognized that zoos provide a safe living environment for animals, including food and healthcare. These animals are protected from poachers, natural disasters, and diseases and are supported by breeding programs. In fact, some animals that are not strong enough to survive on their own in nature, such as black rhinos, rely on zoos for their survival. Another benefit of zoos is that they educate the public about conservation issues. When tourists visit zoos, they can learn more about the animals’ world, thus raising their awareness about protecting these species, especially the endangered ones. For example, as a media program about updating penguins’ life has been launched in an Australian zoo, a fund for conserving marine species has been created and got an enormous donation, which is used to clean the beach and for other environmental protection purposes.

In conclusion, while it is true that zoos can be detrimental to the development of natural wildlife animals, it is my belief that the existence of these institutions is important for their long- term protection.