Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

In this day and age, the growing use of informal written language by a huge throng has been transpiring. The widespread use of instant communication on the Internet is a core ground which can spark the reduction of employment rate and the lower academic outcomes.

Admittedly, it is visible that the prevalence of social media has done a great disservice to people’s written language. The fact is people currently get exposure to social platforms, especially Messenger and Zalo, which serve as a tool to help them interact with others immediately by texting. Therefore, people are adversely impacted by cyber culture such as abbreviations that are created by Internet users to make them easier and more convenient in sending messages. Indeed, they are more inclined to turn these kinds of abbreviated words into their own writing and make it become their habit when they write.

In the interim, there are two profound pitfalls that using less formal written language can bring to people. First off, employees tend to leave a bad impression with the manager in a country or, worse still, they can be refused when their language in CV is written in a relaxed way. Practically, myriad imperative documents like CV form need writing and checking cautiously in order to grab the manager’s attention; conversely, informal writing style makes employees find it arduous to seize job opportunity. Second, students are likely to get unexpected scores in academic tests if they still retain their less formal writing. To be more specific, if students use informal words in their exams at school, they will be criticized for showing their irresponsibility and disregard for the tests. As a result, they can be given a low score in these tests.

To sum up, less formal written language can be contributed by texting via social platforms and it can lead to serious disadvantages for people such as getting low scores at exams and being rejected in applying for jobs.