Many students around the world don’t choose science subjects at university. Give the reasons for this and describe the impact on the community?

It is argued that a significant majority of university students are now not interested in science subjects. This essay will first discuss the possible reasons why this happens and it will then characterize how it influences on the civilization in general.

It is clear that in the modern society a lot of students worldwide prefer to choose humanitarian courses such as public health, international law, human rights education and similar to them instead of formal science. The main reasons of this are specific high school education and lack of places at the labour market. In other words the usual school curriculum popularizes more such areas of learning as public health issues, protection of human dignity and reduction suffering and less concentrates on science courses. As a result, many high school graduates then do not choose science subjects at university due to lack of science knowledge. For instance, a recent study found that the virtual school curriculum oriented towards humanitarian education. Lack of job opportunities for university science graduates only aggravates the situation.

On the other hand, the main consequences of shortage of scientists around the world would negatively impact on the community. That is there are a lot of issues which rely on solutions that can be generated and provided only by scientists. The main examples of it are the global warming, overconsumption, overpopulation, acid rains and many other global issues.

In conclusion, there are many university students decide to choose rather humanitarian education than science. A significant variety of reasons of this build the modern tendency of the future with a listed above number of negative effects.