As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

There is no doubt that, sense of satisfaction at workplace, where majority of adults spend considerable amount of their life, is essential, as it can improve efficiency and functionality of the employee. Job satisfaction is a complex, multi-factorial phenomenon, which is derived from a number of key determinants. In this essay, I will discuss about these vital factors and feasibility of job satisfaction for an individual.

To begin with, the determinants of job satisfaction can be either employee dependant or workplace dependant. The employee dependant factors include expectation, goals, motivation and suitability. For example, an engineer, might join an automobile company as a sales manager, however, he may not be content with this job profile, because he is more suitable for engineering jobs rather than managerial tasks. Thus in due course of time, he will loose interest his job and will not be satisfied. However, it is not the case always, sometimes even a person placed in a matching job profile may show discontent with the job, if he expected irrational returns and renumerations from it.

Furthermore, the workplace dependent variables include company policy, human resource management, workload and task-based incentives. For instance, a doctor working day and night in an emergency department is usually less satisfied than a skin doctor, who routinely work at office hours and rarely encounter an emergency situation. Besides that, target and task-based incentives have proven to be very successful tools to keep employees motivated and satisfied. In the end, I would like to briefly mention about neutral factors which are independent of both employee and workplace. These include, nature of work, atmospheric conditions and public perception. For example, a traffic police working on a warm humid day will most likely feel less content than a salesman sitting in an airconditioned fashion showroom.

In conclusion, I believe that, job satisfaction is the most important factor to be addressed at a workplace, and it is the responsibility of both employee and employer to work synergistically in order to achieve it.