Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, not only films are made by giant organizations but also individuals are able to make ones with the support of digital technology. From my point of view, this development is both positive and negative.

There are several reasons why the tendency of people having the ability to make films by themselves is positive. Firstly, since films are produced by both companies and people, viewers and audience could have a chance to watch more movies. For example, people can see a wide range of types of films such as horror movies, short films or comedy ones and with various topics like families, schools. friends and so on. Secondly, the quality of movies produced from big companies could become better. This is because these organizations would compete with films made by individuals in order to gain profits from viewers so they have to invest more about the contents of films or the sound and the quality of images.

Although some positive points are mentioned above. This pattern also has some negative sides. First and foremost, since almost all films which are not made by big companies may not be censored, this trend could give the opportunity for bad movies to develop. For instance, in VietNam, there are so many violence and sexual films are posted on Youtube by youtubers who are directors of these films. In addition, some companies could be bankrupt. This can be explained that films produced by some organizations could be less interesting than ones made by individuals, which leads these companies to lose their revenues while the cost of making films is high.

In conclusion, it is quite common that films nowadays could be made by major companies and everyone with the advent of digital technology. I believe that this trend has both positive and negative sides.