Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

What might be be the case?

What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

Nowadays, startup is more popular. Many people do not work for an employer but have their own business or find job for themselves. There are obviously some pros and cons. In this essay, I will emphasize three reasons that drawbacks can outdo its benefits.

First of all, one weakness feature is unstable. For example, most journalists I know work freelance. Sometimes, they are so busy, but, they also have a period of leisured. Therefore, their income is not unstable. Whereas, if a company employs them, they will have certain finance. In addition, they do not receive a lot of interest, such as medical insurance, accident insurance.

Furthermore, working in organization, people learn and develop skills of communication. They can know how to do team - work and have friendly environment to work. Moreover, some company often hold event like Christmas party, New Year party. They get more opportunity of meeting interesting people.

On other hand, they are lacking in human resources. When they begin to startup, their companies often have small size. Other is very afraid to join and lead to limit the number of manpower. This result in a shortage of experience and support. Making a business viable is so difficult. They have to face some problem, like manage staff, build brand name. I think that this type of work have more disadvantages.

In conclusion, self-employed is convenient but some drawbacks be in being and I do not recommend people to work alone. From my point of view, freelancers who deal with all problems have success.