Nowadays many young people are often spending their free time in shopping centres. This has a negative effect on the youths and the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People of young generation loved to roam in the shopping malls in their free time. But whether such activity is creating a negative effect on them and the society is a matter of debate. In my opinion, such concern raised seems to have both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I would like to present some of my views related to such concerns.

Firstly, young people are mostly fascinated by branded items. Only few of them bother about the design, colour and type of items they buy, the thing which captures most of their attention is " the tag mark that reflects the brand name". Young people of rich families spend their money in buying such luxurious items, this directly or indirectly affect young people who cannot afford to buy such items. This may sometimes make them feel insulted and some may also end up in disputes with their dear parents who cannot give them money to spend on such branded items. In addition to shopping malls, such areas are also installed with expensive restaurants which deal with junk foods, and young people are most likely to spend money in buying such foods. Thus, they not only become victim of wasting money but also get involve in a bad diet.

On the other hand, shopping mall can be recommended as a safe place where young people can meet their friends and roam safely. As such areas have all kinds of shops and restaurants, they are less likely to roam around in open streets which may be dangerous for them.

So can we agree completely that shopping mall is bad for young people to roam within? On one hand it seems young people are wasting their time and money in shopping malls, while on the other hand it can be said to be a safe place for them. Thus, I think young people should roam in shopping malls with their friends provided they keep a check on their money they spend and also utilise a good amount of time in their studies.