Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. What is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

It is undeniable that some children are put under a lot of pressure from their parents. The adults obviously want their kids to have a good education and get excellent scores on tests, so the children are made to study really hard. This development is negative for the children due to the drawbacks of parents’ high demands.

This kind of development can cause several financial problems for parents. If they want their kids to be good students, they have to buy them school stationery, beginner (or advanced) learning books, notebooks, and so on. For higher grades, new books are also required, so more money is spent. Moreover, books that are not part of the curriculum are still needed for children to acquire knowledge besides what they learn at school. If the children get good marks from exams, the money spent on their studies will be worth it. In contrast, if they, unfortunately, fail to achieve adequate scores, it will be a waste of money for parents.

Also, putting children under too much pressure can cause mental changes to them. Some parents create schedules for children and force them to do the exact same, while others take their kids to extra classes or tell them to learn advanced parts of subjects to help improve their knowledge. But a few of them get exorbitant and they want their kids to get high ranks or even scholarships from competitions. Some even install cameras in kids’ rooms to monitor their behaviors, to see if they study seriously. This has made children become less active as they always sit down at their desks. Some of them have to stay up late at night to finish their studies, so they would get tired during the daytime and not have enough energy to do anything else. And, a few students even get depression from too much stress, and sadly there have been many suicides.

In conclusion, putting children under pressure can bring about many negative effects. A lot of money is spent on their studies, therefore financial issues arise. Besides, this can hurt them mentally and then cause unfortunate consequences.