Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that technological advancements have led to many changes in people's communication. The relationships created during this era have also been significantly influenced, and my viewpoint is that this has both pros and cons which we should consider.

To begin with, developments in technology have exerted a huge impact on human's relationships in terms of education, business and social life. First and foremost, with the appearance of the Internet and other useful tools, teaching process can now be extremely interesting and interactive on the grounds that teachers and students can access illustrative data and learn via online platforms regardless of distance. What is more, people in the business industry have also had more chances to broaden their relationships and expand their circle of partners thanks to applications like Face-time, Facebook and so on. Discussing about working conditions and contracts has never been easier, now that we can do everything through a computer screen. Last but not least, social media has a tendency to help everyone, especially those who are too shy to communicate, find friends who share the same interest or hobby with relative ease.

On the one hand, I hold the belief that this development brings many disadvantages we should be aware of. New forms of communications have lead to the widespread favour of online chatting and video calls rather than face-to-face conversations. As a consequence, many people are likely to isolate themselves from the society and feel discouraged to make any real life interaction. Therefore, the quality of our relations are degraded heavily. On the other hand, it also comes with many plus points. Technology has totally erased any borders and barriers which used to exist and offered a new chance to make friends with people all over the world, as well as contact our friends or relatives easily no matter where they are. Many fields such as medicine, education and marketing have used it for the purpose of creating huge improvements.

To put it bluntly, technology has totally altered the way we communicate with each other in all aspects of life, and this has its own pros and cons. However, if we are carefully aware of them and try to make good use of such a development, we can totally take our interaction to a higher level.