The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic has been a major concern in urban areas, where the peak hours of traffic is when people commute to their respective jobs or shopping as well as school and university students. To reduce overcrowding and minimize traffic, the need to stop these involved individuals from going to their destinations and just stay at home; which in some way can really reduce traffic is a proposed solution, but this is not the best alternative.

In case of students, yes, there are online courses that are available or tutors for pupils just to let them stay indoors, but it will still alter their growth phase like not being able to interact with kids and students; which is essential in many aspects of life. It will affect most children psychologically like being timid and unable to interact with peers in a normal manner.

On the one hand, working individuals can stay at home and get an online job, but there are different types of jobs and most jobs need face-to-face interaction. If all people will divert into online jobs, a country’s economy can get affected negatively due to the less support that is given by the people to get businesses running. Furthermore, not everyone is technologically savvy, therefore, reducing the need to commute to work is not the best option. For a business to earn a good profit, face-to-face interaction to plan things out is necessary. It is just unfathomable for most businesses to operate well using video calls. There are negative factors that can affect conversations online like the internet speed perhaps.

Therefore, the proposed solution to reduce the need to go to and from school/university, work, and shopping is not favorable since it can lead to further damage to the economy and the development phase of children.