In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Staying at the normal weight level is a common issue in many countries and most of the concern is being overweight after reaching a certain age. There is only one reason behind this problem and that is in the food intake.

In countries such as Japan, foods are not fairly nutritious yet the number of calories is considerably less compared to the US. Most busy people would choose take-out meals due to the limited time they have, therefore, fast-foods is the main option. In Japan, fast-foods are common but, there are also small food stalls that provide a variety of homemade dishes to choose from. Unlike in the US where only fast-foods are mostly common limiting their choice for either a hamburger or other high-calorie foods. Comparing these two countries, Japan has only 3.5% obese individuals in statistics whereas the US has almost 13% which is to be expected based on the kind of food outlets available.

Another issue is on the household consumption. Most parents want what is good for their kids’ nutrition, but a completely healthy diet within the family is rare since most kids hate vegetables and parents will get worried if their kids will not eat as much as the needed daily meal proportion so they will just go against eating healthy food and cook high-fat foods which the children love. As these spoiled kids grow up they will consume what tastes good for them and only few will think about the outcome.

To solve this, the government must impose a law to only sell healthy foods in food outlets and parents must not spoil their kids and allow them to consume healthy food from the first time they take food in their mouth.