In the past, when student did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

These days, it is more common for students to study abroad and persue their university degree in other countries than it was before. Although, living and studying in a different environment may seem difficult and scary, it has some benefits too.

When we go to university, we need to be more independent than we were in our high school years. Many students go to another city and experience living apart from their families for the first time. Studying in a whole new country apears to be even harder for several reasons. Firstly, you get the opportunity to visit your family less frequently than when you are in the same country as them. Second, communication with others could be harder as you might not speak the their language and even if you do there is the issue with accent. Moreover, understanding new custom and synchronizing with it might be problematic. For examples, it is possible that you offend them by doing something that is normal in your own culture.

In spite of all these, there is bright side to it. If you expand your university choices from national to international, you might fine somewhere with better educational qualities. Staying away from your comfort zone and living by yourself will make you more independent and self-sufficient. Experiencing new things, getting to know divers cultures and meeting new individuals with different backgrounds will teach us valuable life lessons and skills. Furthermore it will give us insights about what people around the world are doing in our field of study.

Personally, I think human beings are not meant to get stuck in one spot and eventually die where they were born. They should go to adventures and see multiple locations in the world. what better chance to do it than studying in another part of the globe?