People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example.

Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there has been an increasing incidence in the use of prohibited drugs by the youth. Some are of the belief that parents and other members within the community have contributed to this issue. However, there are efficient ways that are proven to keep these youngsters away from the ill effects of drug use.

Peer pressure has been known as one of the leading causes of drug use. To be socially accepted by the groups created by common adolescents, they have to do what they do, and that means being under the influence of unacceptable norms. In addition, they experience the lack of guidance from their parents. Their parents’ busy schedules have prevented them from having time with their kids like most business tycoons who have lost time with them which made them rebellious thus exposing themselves to the use of drugs.

As an effect, their lives become unproductive. They begin to lose interest in planning for there futures. Aside from this, they begin to develop health problems. These are mainly due to the adverse effects brought about by consuming these drugs. For instance, the long term use of methamphetamine, cocaine, or marijuana decrease body functions which could develop in cardiac problems.

However, these can be avoided if parents begin to provide time for their breed. Making such effort are always acknowledged by their children as the one thing that they really need are those who can guide them all throughout. Furthermore, when they expose their children to sports activities and other related programs, they begin to divert themselves from the risk of prohibited drug use. As a result, they begin to have a healthy lifestyle and have a sense of direction.

As a whole, peer pressure and the lack of parental guidance may lead the young ones to the misuse of illegal or legal drugs which could jeopardize them. However, effective measures can be instituted to prevent this from happening.