People tend to work longer hours nowadays. People say that working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society, so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

In a developed society, people need to adapt with all the changes, especially at work. Many people argue that long average working hours can bring economic success, while I still believe that working time should be limited to ensure the employees can balance between their work and life.

Long average working time can bring some benefits to our society in all aspects of life. First and foremost, people can have a high income, and then a better standard of living to satisfy their needs and alleviate the unemployment rate. For instance, 12 hour shifts have been invested in Japan many years ago which help them boost the prospect in the GDP, rank high, and have international reputation.

It seems to me that expending work time can create various issues for the employees such as isolation and higher rate of turnover. First and foremost, people can damage the relationships between family, and society and lack of communication which separate them from the social, and suffer from the feeling of depression. As a result, employees have an enormous pressure to complete their monthly tasks for revenue. For example, children can be alone due to the lack of presence of their parents. Nevertheless, long working hours can lead to a high percentage of employees who are not satisfied with their jobs. Doing a job without satisfaction can result from the low quality of productivity, getting risks of failure, and worse performance which are the symptoms of high turnover. Therefore, people tend to leave and find other job satisfaction.

Conclusively, the inference made is that people work and earn to live and not live to earn, therefore the disproportionate extension of the working schedule is not only a deterrent to the velocities of businesses but also a menace to the human diaspora on a whole.