People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, working long hours has become a controversial topic. Personally, I strongly think this trend has an impact on everyone. For that reason, I disagree with how this is going on daily.

To begin with, spending more time at work can indeed have a detrimental impact on workers' health and work performance. This is because extended hours of work can lead to both physical and mental fatigue. As a consequence, individuals may find it challenging to maintain high levels of concentration on their tasks, increasing the likelihood of errors and mistakes. For instance, according to a survey, individuals working more than 10 hours per day often take longer to complete tasks that would typically be accomplished more quickly and accurately during regular working hours. Consequently, prolonged hours at work can significantly decrease work productivity. In the past few years, an average working shift has usually been eight hours. Recently, this has changed suddenly; every worker is now required to work more than eight hours in order to meet the company’s criteria. To make matters worse, the government hasn’t done anything about this problem. If this goes on, it would affect the hospitality. Working for a long period of time led to failing physical and mental health in an individual. Therefore, employees will be obligated to take sick leave, have poor work performance, and have low productivity. For instance, many workers have said that their health has been in a bad state since the changes to working hours.

On the one hand, spending much time at work is, firstly, extremely exhausting and stressful. Regarding physical health, people need time to refill energy, which was lost with a pile of documents. Secondly, workers will have less time to spend with their family members. When that happens, the relationships will leave a mark on the worker's mental health. Although working long hours has many demerits, the time spent is proportional to the money earned.

In conclusion, longer working hours can pose detrimental effects on individuals’ lives in terms of their health and their work productivity or even lead to isolation in society as a whole. Working hours should be reduced to an optimal level so that workers can have time to improve their quality of life, widen their point of view in various aspects of nature, and learn new skills to apply to work. Moreover, they can help the office improve outside of the office.