A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today, it has been argued that some people are being evaluated by their social position and wealth while the people’s traditional view like sympathy and reliability seems to become insignificant. Although wealth and social position pioneered the people’s identity in today’s society, in my opinion, those traditional attitudes also have not exhausted yet.

Evaluating some people with their social position can be observed clearly in today’s society. In other words, many people who are affluent along with occupying top position are being honored and pampered in the society. Further, they can enjoy a range of privileges in almost every sector of the society because of having position and power of the money. For instance, a media superstar will be highly welcomed as a chairperson in any function of the society whereas a simple man would have to face many obstacles only to attend that function.

However, it would not be so ambitious to think that the people’s emotion, respect, and trustworthiness to others have not dried out till to date. Still, there are some people in the community who tend to dedicate themselves to helping others and also there are some who prove their honesty by their morality. Consequently, their identity has been built and they are also welcomed by the society. For example, a few months back a simple taxi-driver has become honored as a most reliable citizen by the state because he returned a carrying bag full with money to the owner while he left it in the taxi unnoticed.

To conclude, it is undeniable that the means to evaluate the people has changed over the period of time but still, the society does not forget to treat the honesty and kindness of its other members.