Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true this statement? How far colours influence people's health and capacity for work?

The problem related to psychological effects of surrounding has been relevant since conducting the first mental research. Some psychologists opine that due to the significance of colour perception, people should be more attentive to decoration of public places. I am convinced that that this thesis is fully justified as colours dramatically influence humans` spirits.

I strongly believe that shades of walls strictly correlate with people`s mood and desire to work. Admittedly, if places are painted in pastel tones, individuals will feel calmer and the level of anxiety will be lower. Moreover, scientists keep reminding us that in order to stabilize psychological condition of patients, dyeing hospital walls to light pink or beige tint is required. For instance, according to the survey conducted by Russian Psychological Society, overwhelming majority of individuals feel panic, when they are placed in red or black wards. Thus, shadows of surrounding places may significantly affect mental condition of humans.

In my mind, the contribution of colours into the humans` life has always been considerable, for it was used for relaxation and motivation. To put it differently, one of the methods of reducing the level of stress is to surround individuals by shades, such as green or blue, which are considered to be calming. For example, neuropsychologists have been proven that the sense of calmness as well as appeasement can be reached by walking in the parks around green trees and emerald grass. Furthermore, not only does different shadows bring the sense of serenity, but they also can motivate people to be strong and brutal. Red is believed to be a classical example of this thesis due to the frequent usage of this tone in symbols of war and revolutions. Hence, shades have considerable effect on individuals, which can vary from sedation to activation of aggression.

To conclude, I believe that colours are able to influence on mental health and desire to work as well as to change the mood.