Q13 Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Recently, the question of what factors can contribute to success in life has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that devotion to work enables individuals to lead a better life, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that wealth and appearance allow people to live a high quality of life do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that individual people from wealthy families often have an improved standard of living considering that not only can they establish their own businesses with greater ease, but they are also able to invest a vast sum of money in the stock market. In addition, a myriad of celebrities benefit a great deal from their appearance in modern society. To be more specific, a large number of influencers, such as fashion models and movie stars, obtain an astronomical amount of money as well as fame thanks to their appearance with the development of mass media.

My opinion, however, is that work commitments are more directly related to success in life than fortunes and appearance. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that employees who devote huge amounts of time and energy to their occupations are easily able to get a chance to become promoted to high positions at their workplaces with greater ease. As an illustration, although Kim Hun who was born and raised in a poor area suffered from poverty in his childhood, he became a vice president in Samsung owing to his dedication to work. Furthermore, those who are passionate about their jobs are capable of having a tight grasp of plenty of skills and knowledge linked to their duties which will be invaluable in their future careers. Therefore, these workers are more likely to become experts in their fields and receive higher salaries and more perks. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that individuals' success is determined by work commitments for the reasons discussed above.