Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential for improving health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or governments?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about medicine and treatment, especially in infectious disease situations. It is obvious that finding new sorts of medicine and cure are extremely indispensable to ameliorate human’s health and cope with these diseases. The question arises as to who should pay for these researches. From my perspective, I am unconvinced that the government and private companies must pay for these researches.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to the view that the government should give funds for these researches is that this exploration requires a large sum of money which individuals cannot pay by themselves. In fact, according to the USA Today article, the federal government has allocated more than $9 billion to develop and manufacture candidate vaccines. More than $2.5 billion more has been earmarked for vials to store the vaccines, syringes to deliver them, and efforts to ramp up manufacturing and capacity. As this example shows, the government should allocate money for these researches because of too much money needed.

In addition, also private companies need to devote money to these researched. One exploration to support this point is that in some developing countries, there are many other urgent problems which need a subsidy from the government to deal with. For this reason, the government cannot pay all healthcare issues, meaning these researchers need an allowance from private businesses. This is shown by the following example. In Vietnam, investigating treatments crave for a large amount of money invested in by private businesses. In reality, during the outbreak of the coronavirus period. VinGroup donated 3,200 breathing machines, which worth more than 100 billion VND, to find the treating way for people who are positive with this type of viruses. As a consequence of this, normal people cannot afford to pay this amount of money. Under these circumstances, private companies should spend money on these researches.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that due to the large sum of money required for this purpose, government and private business should spend money on this field instead of ordinary people.