These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, it is acknowledged that more and more people use the Internet and mobile phones to contact each other. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

To begin with, it cannot be denied that the Internet and mobile phones could bring positive aspects to users. The most frequent factor contributing to this view is that it may enable people to maintain their relationship. To clarify, there are a multitude of social networks which people can use to connect with their acquaintances without worrying about distance. For example, via Messenger, I could keep in contact with my best friend living in Canada every day to share our experiences. Therefore, it is clear that the Internet and mobile phone could help people strengthen their relationship.

On the other hand, contacting via these devices might lead to some bad sides. One explanation to support this claim is that it becomes harder for people to find a true relationship online due to the lack of reliable information. This is shown by the following example. According to the findings in a national survey published on Pew Research Center, 86% of Internet users have taken steps online to remove or mask their digital footprints ranging from clearing cookies to encrypting their emails or from avoiding using their real names to using virtual networks that mask their Internet protocol address. As this example reveals, it is clear that users might face up with a great deal of problems when using the Internet or mobile phones to make contact.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that online relationships via the Internet and mobile phones have both plus and minus points. However, I am of the view that the disadvantage of this trend might outweigh the advantage because of the dangers which users are likely to confront when connecting with these devices.