Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

After being penalized, a number of offenders are released to go back their normal lives but they keep committing crimes. There are some reasons that lead to this issue, and I believe that there are also appropriate measures can effectively address this problem.

Despite the positive aspect of being set free and having an opportunity to contribute to community, there are some factors that could make some ex-prisoners break the law again. First, they cannot integrate into community. They are more likely to be refused to employ because of their criminal history. Thus, as a result of being unemployed, they may not have a better choice than to go back to their old ways. Second, they may not willing to work as a normal person as it probably does not earn them as much money and they have to work hard too. Therefore, they can easily be enticed back to illegal activities, which may appear more lucrative.

However, there are some solutions that could be considered in dealing with this problem. First, creating suitable job opportunities can reduce the proportion of unemployed criminals. This can increase the potential of getting job and make them feel being welcomed to come back community. Second, setting retraining courses for them in the prison can help them find a job more easily. For example, they can learn to fix cars or electrical appliances, make some hand-crafted products, which can help them to appreciate the true value of working and earning money.

To conclude, ex-criminals can re-offend because of reasons coming from both themselves and communities, but with a few practical measures could efficiently resolve this issue