Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays there are several social media websites which are part of everyone's life. Almost everyone has an account on at least one social media website and use it as a platform for sharing. Some people believe sharing personal information via social media websites consists of risks. While others think social media pose no dangers on sharing of personal information. I believe that sharing data over any social media website has considerable risks. Recently, there are incidents about the possible dangers of passing information on social media.

Sharing the data over social media can make your data vulnerable to hackers or it can be used by the social media website's developers as well. To illustrate this point, we can take the example of Facebook. In the recent years there are many allegations are on Facebook. Facebook agreed that it saves the photo's that are shared over it's website. This is a serious threat to the personal information. The recent growth in the cyber crime is helping hackers to gather information through social media. This can also include sensitive information as well. So, there are greater threats on the information we share than people know.

People can use information shared over social networking sites in various ways. We can take the tweet made by the security head of Adhar card(Identification of an indian) as an example. He challenged people to try get his information by tweeting his Aadhar card number . But within 24 hours many people tweeted his senstive information. . Hackers are able to get information of maiden's name, first school name, cat name, etc from social media. They can use them in many ways like hacking bank accounts.

In conclusion personal information can be used in a wide range of ways without our knowledge. Sharing information over social media will pose a grave threat and can be used for many illicit ways. So people should be thoughtful and cautious when sharing any data via social media.