In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Junk foods have been increasingly popular as well as a threat for youngsters. Having too much of fast food has resulted in numerous health problems hence necessary measures have to be taken to reduce consumption of junk foods. This essay will argue why Junk food is not good for health and necessary steps that can be taken to lower consumption of junk foods.

Fast foods have immensely grown in many areas and is available at any time when needed. A vast number of chemicals such as ajinamoto, gulmar etc are being used as ingredients in preparation. They also use many pre-cooked dishes includes with additives. Consuming too much fast foods can cause many health problems like diabetes, hypertension etc. A recent survey states that 70 percent of teenagers are obese due to unhealthy eating habits. Hence fast food put at increasing risk of life threating conditions.

On the other hand, the government should create awareness and make necessary measures to lessen the practice of eating unhealthy foods. One major step that can be implemented is imposing taxes on restaurants and shops that serve fast food. In this way, it could reduce the number of people consuming fast foods on a regular basis. For example, when GST was implemented in India there has been a decline in the number of people who take fast food. Therefore necessary steps should be taken by governments to ensure control over unhealthy food.

This essay argued why the government should get involved in public health concerns and why junk foods should be avoided. In my opinion, consumption of fast food is an unhealthy practice and should be avoided in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle.