Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Learning of new languages is being increasingly popular among many people and would be an added advantage for their resume. A group of people believes that traveling and working is the main purpose of learning a foreign language while others say that there are other reasons for learning it.

This essay will discuss how foreign language helps a professional and various other reason for learning.

Nowadays, native language has become necessary for those who wish to travel abroad for work need to communicate since many of them don’t speak the universal language. In order to find basic needs for an immigrant, a local language is a must for bargaining. People who are fluent in the local language of a foreign country have the highest chances of getting the work permit and permanent residence. A recent survey states that around 35 percent of Canadian citizens are French language speakers.

On the other hand, immigrating to another country is not the only reason for learning a foreign language. There are several other reasons like individual hobbies and interest. Many schools have included several foreign languages for their student to understand and develop interest over their cultures. Entrepreneurs can create new business opportunities by learning and explaining their ideas in their native languages. For example, Indian start-ups products like spices, silk sarees, etc are now available in many nations.

In a way, we can conclude that there are purposes and advantages of learning a foreign language like creating new demands and opportunities. In my opinion, knowing a foreign language would benefit a long term for both traveling and working in a new nation.