In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

The tendency of renting houses is increasingly prevalent within society rather than that of buying a house. In my opinion, while the benefit of this trend is mainly due to its cost and accessibility, the inconvenience, however, contributes to its drawbacks.

In terms of the cost of rental houses, it is more affordable than that of buying a house because people just need to pay the space that they want to live in, and any inner facilities are already included. In contrast, owning a house means that property is not included in the price, and people have to pay a particular amount of money for that. Another benefit is that rental houses, which are also known as apartments, are popular in most metropolises nowadays. This is the case because these places often attract a great number of people, especially immigrants, coming from all sorts of backgrounds to settle down. They are greatly benefited by its ubiquity as it does not require a lot of time and effort to find.

Apart from the advantages of rental houses, this trend also poses several problems to people's lives. Rental houses are often built before the time that people move in, so they are not permitted to change or rebuilt inner structures such as walls and additional rooms. Hence, people could not fully experience the freedom that they could decorate and design the accommodation as per their convenience and comfort. Another inconvenience that also has an advert impact on people is that the price of rental houses is becoming expensive, and people have to shoulder that financial responsibility for every month in order to keep their place. At the same time, if they barely afford the increasing price of rental houses, the risk of losing their place will occur.

In conclusion, although as per people's preference, renting a house is more affordable and easy to find in big cities, the disadvantages, including the freedom of changing inner structures and the soaring price, should not be dismissed.