In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many people believe that it is virtual for teenagers to have a gap year to work or travel which existed when they terminated at high school and prepare for studying at university. Therefore, it has both pros and cons generally. In my opinion, the benefits should outweigh the drawbacks of this trend.

On the one hand, young people decide to work or travel for a year without studying for many reasons. Firstly, when they visit to many places, it is needed to have an amount of time to relax after finishing high school. Moreover, they can have valuable experiences and well-informed about cultures, famous places and people in there. Secondly, teenagers can earn a lot of money while they work for full-time jobs. Correspondingly, they can achieve many soft skills, which won't be taught at the university, help them have a perfect plus for their future job. Finally, young people have not to be depended on the financial burden of high cost of tuition fee at university. Many universities tend to make the profits by increasing the fees which includes the infrastructure, textbooks, facilities,... As a result, students are not able to manage for their poor standard to take part in studying at university.

On the other hand, students determine to have a gap year will meet with these difficulties. The process of achieving knowledge is slower than university students. They have not enough time to keep pace with students who always foster the will of being a successful person. In addition, it takes longer for young people to have a certain career. Besides, it takes much money to travel for accomodation, transportation, food, drinks,... instead of studying at university for a particular expense.

In conclusion, many young people choose for their oriental future according to different ways. It is not contigent on the traditional methods before. As well as they can develop themselves better, they are free to decide.