Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Understanding foreign language has become a necessity nowadays. Some experts are of the view that youngsters should learn this language at elementary school instead of high school. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits associated with this opinion and clearly show, indeed, that it is essential to integrate this language at primary school level.

There are many benefit associated with learning foreign language in elementary school. Firstly, children will learn this language more quickly. This is because they are in their formative years and any language they teach them at this stage can be grasp effortlessly. Take Nigeria for example, most private basic schools usually teach youngsters French language apart from the local language that is common among them. Consequently, this makes these children to be better users of this international language. Secondly, it allows children to learn the culture of other people. The culture of any country is usually reflected in their language. Learning this at an early age makes youngsters to understand the way of life of other culture and integrate it into their lifestyle thereby making them to identify with people who speak this foreign language. For instance, understanding English language will enable children to know how they exchange pleasantries in the United Kingdom and how they communicate as well. Undoubtedly, these two benefits will be extremely advantageous for children

Despite some merits, there are some drawbacks youngsters can suffer. One of them is that their indigenous language acquisition may suffer setback. In other words, they may not be able to understand or speak their local language fluently and this can lead to extinction of such language. This is very common in Nigeria as many children do not understand their mother’s tongue anymore as they being taught in foreign language. Another disadvantage of this is children inability to freely choose which foreign language to learn since they still young and their parents make decision for them. This can have severe consequences on children later in life as they seek for employment opportunity because they can not communicate their indigenous language that local people understand. However, these two drawbacks pale in comparison to the merits this foreign language offers.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the benefits and demerits of international language. In my opinion, although learning foreign language has its own disadvantages, the merits clearly supersede the drawbacks.