Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is clear that learning a second language at a young age is better for young children than an older age. I believe that there are more positives than negatives for this trend, and I will explain more in this essay.

On the one hand, there are two significant advantages for the acquisition of a new language at an early age. One benefit is that young learners have more time to study a foreign language to improve their pronunciation. If the children study at a later age, it is somewhat difficult to change the habit of learning. Another advantage is that learning languages at a small age leads to better writing. The primary school students are likely to fluently express their ideas in their language use when their teachers teach them in class. It makes children confident to develop their communication skill later.

On the other hand, there are two main shortcomings when a foreign language is taught at primary school. Firstly, the students who learn from first to fifth grade have the confusion of mother language and target language. Because of studying a bilingual environment at the same time, children do not know how to use words in the right way. As a result, she or he may get misunderstood when she or he speaks to other people. Secondly, the young students are under pressure of time because of their busy schoolwork. The children have to study a number of other subjects besides a foreign language, so they concentrate on their study to have a good academic result.

In conclusion, this trend has both benefits and drawbacks in equal measure. Therefore, it is best if parents and teachers pay attention to the growth of each student so as to make the decision whether or not to teach them foreign language from an early age.