Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that tertial education plays a significant role in today’s modern world. Some individuals are of the opinion that higher education is aimed at supporting people to find better employment, others, however opine that it has much broader benefits for people and the society, which they live in. This essay intend to analyze both perspectives, while I, personally side withe latter view.

To begin with, the universities are central and the most known centers for transfering knowlegde from professionals to younger generations. And without a doubt, the skills and professionalism gained in these institutions are the key to gain success in the search of higher paid jobs. For example such a well paid professional as the doctor is may not work at a hospital, unless he/she has a proper higher education. Meanwhile, this should be considered as merely one of many benefits of university education.

As a matter of fact many soft skills are learned by people during the university study; the heavy assesments due for very limited timeframe, group tasks for many subjects of the curricula, teaches people to such skills as the time-management or relationship building. Many of these powerful abilities are becoming incredibly useful in the individuals personal life, particularly for strong and trustful frienship or a well-developed family.

On the other hand society largely benefits from the developed university system. Fistly, it is commonly known that most of the scientific discoveries are realized in the higher education departmens and centers attached to them. Another obvious positive impact can have a developed university system on the country’s economy, as if it has a better education than the less developed countries, an enourmous income can generated from the tuition fees paid by the internationl studens. A resurch shows that the profit generated from the education is 23% of the UK’s total export.

To conclute, it can be reiterated that the university system has a positive impact not only for job finding, but also for the other aspects of the individuals and the society.