Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether or not allowing children to make their own decisions in regarding to their interest on everyday activities such as clothes, foods or entertainment activities. Although I understand the reason why some people are afraid that free choice for children can lead to selfishness, I would strongly support the idea that they should be entitled to self-decision under parental guidance.

On the one hand, I accept that children could become inconsiderate when being given the right to decide. Firstly, being immature means that children are unable to perceive a problem in many aspects so their choice could mostly be ineffective or even harmful. This is clearly reflected by watching kids eating habits from which they are usually hyperactive due to their strong taste for fast food, soda or a range of sweet desserts. Secondly, it is human instincts for anyone to make a decision in favor of their own benefits including children. If free choices are available from early-stage, selfishness as well as demanding behavior is inevitable.

On the other hand, instructing children to decide for the manors is beneficial to the child itself and the society in due course. Initially, parents could allow children to have the freedom of choice as long as their duty is performed. This could be seen as continuous training for kids and decision-making to become more responsible for all consequences. Also, decisiveness from early education would be an advantage when they grow up as it is a beneficial quality required in a competitive job market.

In conclusion, self-decision could have some drawbacks, but I believe that the benefits outweigh them in the long-term.