Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how much information we can share in the fields of science, business and academy. While I accept that some information should not be opened to the public because of its significance, I agree that the rest of other information could be shared free of charge and it would be much more beneficial to the society.

There are a number of reasons why people are reluctant to share knowledge with others. When it comes to business, some information related to new products, functions or designs is regarded as valuable assets. By developing these knowledge and skills, a company could make a great hit in the market, which might lead to a big success as well as a huge profit. If any of this information was disclosed to the public in advance, competitors could easily copy or imitate its distinctive features of the products. With regard to scientists and researchers, they devoted their entire life to studying and investigating in their chosen field, so their achievements should be provided sufficient rewards such as the patent or copyright to their goals. Moreover, some technological skills, like making nuclear bombs, are too dangerous to open to the public.

Even though the information mentioned above might be hard to disclose to the ordinary people, I believe that there are still a lot of knowledge which could be shared to the world. Due to the development of technology and globalization, the power of collective knowledge is much stronger than the past. A wide range of people from different fields can cooperate with each other to make great progress in various fields. For example, some IT companies made public their own codes without any conditions in order to show their technological excellence as well as to accept useful advice related to errors or improvements. Apart from this, a few of famous chefs have provided their secret recipe freely nowadays, which contributes to the popularization of cooking and consequently broaden the domain of cooking market.

In conclusion, although there are some specific information that should be keep as a confidential, I argue that our society could benefit greatly by sharing a lot of knowledge as much as possible and collaborating with each other using it.