Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

There is a long debate happening in our society about the punishment for offenders. Some people think that every type of crimes should be punished fitting the law, while others opine that punishment should be flexible which relies on circumstance and motivation of offenders. From my perspective, getting justice is the rights of all people including every offender.

To begin with, standardized punishment is a method for gaining self discipline and awareness in society. No matter what the reasons of crimes, every offender should get the same consequences to their actions; as a result, people will pay high attention to the rules and are fearer to wrong doing. The prank trends in this youtube era; for example, encouraging young people to think carefully before performing a joke which can threaten people’s life. Hence, applying standardized punishment can deter people to do wrong actions and reduce crime’s rate in our surrounding.

Apart from those reasons, punishment without consideration is a inequity. One reason for this is that everyone has the chance to trap into critical situation. Self-defense cases; for instance, a person who is attacked by stranger will try to defend with many ways and there are some cases that the victim kill the crook as a defensive method. The recent study also shows that almost 30% of criminal cases in the developing countries are caused by economic factor such as a woman who stole food in the supermarket for feeding his daughter. Thus, it is unfair if they got the same punishment as the others criminal. That is why giving consideration is a prudent idea before imposing punishment to offenders.

All thinking considered, it has been claimed that enacting standardized punishment could enhance people’s discipline; nevertheless, there is an argument that it is a inequity if we ignore the reasons of people doing a crime. I personally believe that taking consideration on the punishment is likely to be a wise idea for upholding the justice.