Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

There is an interesting discussion happening in our society about the major function of university. Many people assert that universities should produce well-prepared graduates for future work, whereas others argue this notion and opine that the real function of university should provide unlimited access to knowledge no matter what will be useful for future demands. From my perspective, graduates should be complemented with workable program in knowledge and skill to survive in this global competition era.

It is a common belief that people go to university for pursuing future career. This can be attributed to the fact that university is a foundation for learning practical course which contains a lot of theories in their curriculum. A further reason is that there is high competition in the job market today; therefore, young people are demanded to have personal competency after they finished study. Multinational company hiring; for example, enacting high qualification for job requirement such as software abilities and internship experiences. Hence, universities encourage to produce ready-for-work graduates.

In contrast, there is an argument on the other side about the real purpose of university. The universities should provide full education to everyone without knowledge’s restriction since universities play pivotal role to explore young people’s interest and expand their knowledge. The recent study also shows that there are totally differents between work assignments and academic knowledge; consequently, some companies provide training schemes for fresh graduates. That is to say that only a little knowledge from university will be useful in the workplace.

All thinking considered, university should facilitate student to be graduates employability even though there is an opposite opinion in this issue. I personally believe that it might help student to get confusion out when they graduate.