Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity.

Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

For many centuries scientists exploited animals in medical experiments, watching the effect of invented preparations, that in future supposed to help people in overcoming various deceases. However, in recent time protest actions have become popular among those people, who are not indifferent to animals.

Regarding animal experiments, rats, dogs, or another being are the most suitable for testing the medicines, because they have the similar organism as humans have. Also, someone can say, that it is better to sacrifice an animal health or even a life, rather than to kill a human being, or make him an invalid. In overall, the effectiveness of this initiative is much more valuable than the beasts’ lives, as a new drug can safe hundreds of people lives. For example, if an antibiotic were not tested on animals, there would be millions of deaths in the world.

On another hand, the activists argue that animals feel the pain in the same manner as a man. As a fact, many students in medical universities cut alive frogs without any anesthesia in their studies. A lot of animals are fed with new medicines without any protection, in order to watch all consequences. Zoo activists are convinced that scientists do not have any right to harm beasts, considering that the letter are not able to object or give an agreement to accept a medical procedure. A beast has the same right to enjoy the life as a human being.

Overall, I am not a furious animal protector, using the medicine that was tested on animals and not participating in actions or writing letters to health authorities. However, I believe that in future the technologies will go ahead, and artificial intelligence will be exploited instead of alive organisms.