Some people claim that many things that children are taught at school are a waste of time. Other people argue that everything children study at school is useful at some time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the main purpose of education is to equip students with knowledge and skills that are necessary for their lives and careers. Although learning some subjects is a waste of time sometimes, I would argue that the knowledge students obtained from school is very important to their future life.

On the one hand, many people believe that some majors that students study are no sense and cannot bring some benefits to them, possibly because these subjects cannot be applied in their lives. For example, students find that mathematics is extremely difficult and they spent much time leaning, but mathematics skills can be irrelevant to their daily life. As we live in a technology age, even though we meet some questions about mathematics, we can use computers or other high-tech devices to help us solve it. As a result, the time and efforts spent on math are unworthy.

Other people are in favour of the importance of skills that they obtained from schools, because it can help them live a better life and advance their careers. For instance, students can work as a specialist in computer industries if they major in computer engineering after graduating. Consequently, they are more likely to earn high salaries, which can make then enjoy a high quality of life. For these people, it is the knowledge that makes them successful.

In my opinion, knowledge can make a big difference to people’s future life. People learned some subjects from university and they should treat it using a long term sight. Since what they learn cannot give them immediately return, these people should understand that it will perform its function in the near future. As an example, students, with a bachelor degree in chemistry, who work in IT companies, may think that their majors are useless. However, when these students change their job, and start their careers in some fields that they ever did some research. As a consequence, these skills will play a crucial role in their daily work or even hold the key to the promotion.