Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will be no longer necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that there is no need to build and develop museums and art galleries because of the convenience and availability of computer. I totally disagree with this idea due to two main reasons below.

It is undoubtable that the advent of computer and wide Internet has given people access to all the places which are historically, culturally significant, regardless of geographical distance. Some people prefer the comforts at home when they can watch images about artwork and read information about history. However, these experiences can not be compared to the experience of being in the presence of a museum or art gallery. It is obviously more vivid and intriguing to see the real work of art or the artifacts, allowing to broaden people’s mind as well as encourage their motivation for learning about other country’s culture and history.

Moreover, visiting museums and art galleries also brings another huge benefit, which is architecture of the place people come. While watching the artworks or learning about historical facts, visitors also can admire the extraordinary architectural grandeur. For example, many people have paid a considerable amount of money not to visit Hoi an gallery not just because it possesses huge collection of national masterpieces, but also because it exhibits the aesthetically beautiful architecture. This is the worthwhile experience that sitting at home and watch everything via a screen could not bring to art or historical lovers.

In conclusion, due to the reasons mentions, I am convinced that the feeling of using the computer of any digital devices to see historical objects and artworks is far different from the one of paying a visit to historical or cultural sites. Therefore, the necessity of these places is not rejected by individuals and authorities.