Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the middle of globalization process, the intense debate over economic growth has been dominated by two themes. One is that the growth in economy could be seen as the only way to lead mankind to a new world of no hunger and poverty. Second is that we should put the economic growth under control due to the deadly threats to our environment that come along with it. In the sphere of this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of these views mentioned above.

On the one hand, although economic growth has significantly improved our life’s quality, it is rapidly motivating the gap among social classes. A vast majority of our population are manual workers whose salary only afford basic needs, or even worse, only one dollar per day depending on their place of living. Therefore, they virtually have no ability to afford common devices as well as to feel difficult to approach high-technology devices such as transporting vehicles or telecommunication applications. Furthermore, despite the fact that almost policies were expected to pave the way for solving poverty, the fact is that the lower-income earners is still suffocated under the cloak of taxes. In the less-developed countries, for example, passing the law of tax which benefit the illusions of national economic growth instead of the poor did result in widening the gap between social classes. As a result, the expectation of a bright future brought by economic growth is crashing down in many certain regions for the reality that the rich become richer and the poor become poorer.

On another hand, our environment could never restore as it was, even if humans cease all the economic activity, since economic growth is only one of numerous factors to result in environmental damage. Despite the solutions given for years such as decreasing leftovers, recycling plastic rubbish and using eco-friendly material, the final results seems to be insignificant. Furthermore, a series of serious issues emerging in recent years like overpopulation, erroneous development strategy, and poverty did account for the bulk of factors to burden a heavy pressure on the our planet in terms of environment degradation. One of the most egregious examples is the deeds blinded by the power of money that are still occurring everyday in the less-developed countries. In these countries, the corrupted governments did legalize illegal logging as well as illegal poaching that affect seriously the ecosystem's balance. A day may come when human raise the awareness in the environment problems, yet neither the magnificent animals that once roam across the savannah of Africa nor the virgin forests that once were our green lungs would survive till that day.

In conclusion, economic growth plays an important role in global development. However, tied with this development is the unpredictable consequences over the environment. In my opinion, a method that could harmonize the economical benefits and environmental preservation is the best way humans should put priority on.