Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

we live in a modern society that is surrounded by electronics, new scientific discoveries and speed of communication hitherto unknown. Some people believe that we should continue to focus on this area as part of our education, whereas others like to look to backwards to history to learn and believe that understanding where we came from is more important than knowing where we re going.

Looking at the belief that Science and Technology is of higher value than history, personally I agree that the continued advanced and development of our world is paramount. As a species it is in our nature to investigate, innovate and create and therefore must continue the forward movement through our time. examples of this would include the search for ET, developing a human space program, not to mention the eventual understanding of how the universe works.

Looking at the other side of this argument, there is no doubt that understanding history has its advantages. To my mind understanding and potentially learning from previous mistakes is sometimes applicable even when you are dealing with the new and unknown. For example, the development of new energy sources, such as cold fusion or even just regular fusion. The potential for good is boundless, but so is its potential for harm. just look at the atom bomb and Mr nobel.There are things to be learnt from that.

Overall, in my opinion they both have advantages and disadvantages but people need to progress and I am the type of person that believes more in the future than the past.